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- š°ļø The 3 revenue streams of free newsletters
š°ļø The 3 revenue streams of free newsletters
And something I'm embarrassed to have just learned š¤¦
Howdy folks š
A few things in this email:
š¹ļø A free workshop you should come to (that Iām not running)
š¤¦ I was today yearās old when I learnedā¦
š 3 ways to monetize a newsletter or email list (and very specific examples I think youāll love)*
*š A TON of value packed into bullet point 3. Well worth your time if you run a business.
š¹ļø Stop feeling weird on camera + use video to make money
Cam Houser (a client of mine I talked about last week) is running a free workshop this Thursday on how to win more customers and opportunities via video (without any fancy video equipment).

Cam + Pinky
I can honestly say the stuff Cam gives away for free has helped me and my clientsā¦land more clients. And heās a lot of fun.
I bet it'll be your favorite 60 minutes this week. I'll be there. Camās cat might be there. Will you be?
š»ļø Where: Zoom (register for free here)
ā±ļø When: 1PM EST this Thursday, 12/14
Event is capped at 100 people and theyāre almost gone.
š¶ I was today yearās old when I learnedā¦
Many tape measures have certain numbers marked out in red (like the one below). Itās one of those things I immediately recognize, but have never paid attention to. Well, thereās a pattern. The numbers in red are in intervals of 16.
Why?
Because the standard distance between studs (like behind your wall) is 16āā
If you knew that already, I donāt need your judgment.. š«
If you didnāt know that, youāre welcome š«”
And while weāre at it, 16 Ć 3 = 48 inches (or 4 ft, the typical width of a piece of drywall)..

shout out to my younger brother-in-law Jacob for the fun fact
In the last 2 emails, I mentioned Iāve been immersed in growing email lists and newsletters - both for clients like Cam as well as for Malachi Daily.
I also talked about how an email list is an owned audience, which has many advantages over borrowed audiences (like IG, FB, etc.), the #1 advantage being that you get to decide when your subscribers see content, not an ever-changing algorithm.

Malachi Daily stats as of 12/12 š
šļø Below, Iāll break down 3 ways to monetize an email list/newsletter.
Iāll do this via the most common question I get around newslettersā¦how does a free newsletter make money?
š” An aside: The newsletter industry is currently on the cusp of a boom thanks to tools like Beehiiv making it easier than ever to start & grow a newsletter.
I would liken it to the boom weāve seen in the podcasting world over the past 5 or so years. It went from only famous people with studios and big budgets hosting podcasts to everyone and their mother hosting one.
Podcasts (another form of āowned contentā) arenāt going anywhere. And neither are email newsletters.
I think the difference with newsletters is that that not everyone likes hearing their own voice, making it a barrier for folks to start one. But most people are more comfortable with putting out their ideas via writing.
āļø My prediction: Email is here to stay and I think this current newsletter boom has the potential to meet or exceed the podcast boom weāve seen.
š¤ So back to businessā¦how can a free newsletter make you/your business money?
In a few ways:
Affiliate marketing: Promote some elseās product and get paid commission when someone buys that product
Ads: Allow another person or company to recommend their product or service to your audience (the whole basis of āfreeā social media)
Owned products and services: Sell your own products and services (merch, courses, high-ticket services)
Not rocket science. No right or wrong way to monetize (I personally recommend all 3), but they each come with pros and cons in these 3 categories:
amount of work required
potential reward
risk
Iāll do deeper dives on each of these 3 monetization strategies (and when to start with each of them) in future emails, but for now, letās get into the basic math of why growing an email newsletter makes a ton of cents š«°
(Plus 2 very specific examples to bring it home)
Buckle up, this is going to be good š¤
Letās talk acronyms š¤
There are 2 primary metrics that determine whether your email list will make you money or not:
CPS (cost per subscriber): How much $ you spend to acquire a new subscriber
sometimes referred to as CPL (cost per lead), CPA (cost per acquisition), CAC (customer acquisition cost)
LTV (lifetime value of a subscriber): How much $ you make on average per subscriber during their lifespan of being a subscriber
If you have 1000 subs and made $3k last year, your LTV is $3
The oversimplified equation says if you can get to the point where your:
LTV (how much $ someone spends while a subscriber) > CPS (how much it cost you to acquire them)
..you have a viable business. And in theory, the more you grow your audience, the more money you will make.
š” Note: This can always vary greatly by industry or your business model (aka which revenue stream you primarily rely on), but a general rule of thumb is that a 3:1 ratio of LTV to CAC or higher makes for a solid business.
Meaning, if it costs you $1 to acquire a subscriber and the lifetime value of a subscriber is $3 or greater, youāre in good shape because the more you grow your audience, the more money youāll make š
Letās walk through 2 examples to bring these ideas to life š¤
One example for side hustlers and one for full-time entrepreneurs..
Example A: Side Hustle Sam š©āš¦±
Side Hustle Sam has 2500 email subscribers on a list she grew organically via social media ($0 cost to acquire them).
She sells a $200 self-paced course that 50 people have bought this year (2% of her audience). Thatās $10,000 in sales.
šļø Hereās where this gets funā¦
Since she sold $10,000 in courses and has an email list of 2500 subscribers, the LTV of a subscriber $10,000/2500 subs = $4.
Which means she can spend $1.25 to acquire new subscribers and still maintain that 3:1 LTV to CAC ratio I mentioned aboveš”
š¤ So why spend $1.25 to acquire a subscriber when you can get them for free?
Simple answer: because itās easier & youād make more money. Hereās how..
Samās options:
šŖ“ She could continue to grow organically (doable, but slower and less in your control). If she grows her newsletter to 3500 subscribers and converts 2% of them to buyers, thatās 70 course sales for $14,000 next year.
š³ She could invest in paid growth and acquire new subscribers for $1.25 each (doable, faster and more in your control - this is where I can help).
If she grows her newsletter to 7500 subscribers and converts the same 2% to buyers, thatās 150 course sales for a total of $30,000 in sales next year. Subtract the $6k spent to acquire those subscribers and youāre left with $24,000 from the course (aka $10k more in her bank)
Plus:
She now has 7500 subscribers now, which is when other creators, brands and companies become interested in paying to sponsor your newsletter (new revenue stream unlocked)
She has 7500 subscribers, which opens up opportunities for affiliate marketing to drive meaningful revenue
She has a bigger audience to sell merch, digital products & higher ticket services to
Long story short for Sam, growing her newsletter will give her more profit and more options.
Example B: Full Time Frank š§āāļø
Frank left his day job a few years ago to start a fitness coaching biz. He has 2000 email subscribers.
He sells 2 things:
An intro course for $500
A 1:1 coaching package for $4,000
This year, he sold 50 courses ($500 Ć 50 = $25k) and 25 coaching packages ($4k x 25 = $100k) for a total of $125,000 in sales.
LTV = $125k/2000 subscribers = $62 (not uncommon for it to be this high when you sell high-ticket services)
This means Frank can spend up to $20 to acquire a new subscriber, and heāll still have above a 3:1 LTV to CAC ratio š¤Æ
The Punchline
If Frank doubles his newsletter to 4000 subscribers paying even $5 (which is high) to acquire a new subscriber (5 Ć 2000 = $10k), heāll sell $250,000 in courses and coaching packages.
Subtract the $10k spent to double the newsletter and Frank will end the year with $240k in profit.
The best part? He wouldnāt have to be on a content treadmill constantly on social media.
š Wrapping up..
In both of these examples, they had relatively small email audiences to start with and were only using 1-2 revenue streams.
And even then, you can see how growing your audience opens up opportunities in the short and long term to help more people and drive more profit (especially if you sell more than a low-ticket course).
Note: I didnāt even get into using Sparkloop.app to make money from getting new subscribersā¦which is a game changer.
š¤Æ Spark notes version? Whenever someone new subscribes to my newsletter, they get a pop up showing them other newsletters that looks like this:

When my new subscribers also subscribe to one of these newsletters, they pay me $1-3 per referral. Which means, as I grow my newsletterā¦I make moneyā¦

Projected earnings for Malachi Daily just from referring to other newsletters
I threw a lot at you, but if youāre still reading this, I hope you see why Iām so excited about newsletters and the potential impact it can have on your business.
And Iām just scratching the surface.
š If you want help growing your email list or newsletter so you can grow your business, let me know.
š” Note: There are a number of ways we can structure working together to align our incentives. For example, Iāve done flat fees, consulting retainers, and revenue shares (aka I only make money when you do). Open to chat.
If your interest is piqued, hit reply and letās talk š¤
Until next time,
Kieran āļø
p.s. if you or your company wants to sponsor the Malachi Daily newsletter and reach our audience, fill out this form. Weāre in the early days, so these will be the best rates for sponsorship weāll ever have š
p.p.s. you/your business doesnāt have to be faith based. Weāre open to partnering with Christian and secular brands.